North Carolina Continuing Education Requirements

November 1, 2022
Countdown Until Renewal
701 days 10 hours 2 minutes 33 seconds
Days
Hours
Mins
Secs

Please note that massage therapy laws change frequently and vary from state to state. Although we try to provide the most accurate information available, ultimately it is the responsibility of the student to contact their state licensing bureau to verify massage licensing renewal requirements.

Please note that all courses are approved by the NCBTMB (National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork), NCBTMB Approved Provider #450015-06.

North Carolina Course Bundles
3 CE “Professional Ethics” Course Bundle
12 CE Course Bundle (includes 3 CE’S in “Professional Ethics”)
or choose our “All CE’S Bundle” where you can pick and choose your classes HERE For One Low Price
CE Requirements for 2020 and 2021 License Renewal Period Information HERE

NC has an option to upload your CE certificates directly to their website. In order to do so, save your certificates to PDF files and then send to NC. You’ll find information on how to do this HERE. 

We do not offer the service of sending your certificates to you and cannot send them to the NC Massage Board directly since they are not set up to receive certificates directly from the CE Provider. Please visit the state licensing board to verify massage licensing renewal requirements or for further information.

From the NC Massage Board Website (11/2018)

If your licensure period is two years or more, you are required to take a minimum of 24 hours of continuing education, which shall include a minimum of 3 hours of ethics, in order to renew your license. You may only take a maximum of 12 hours of distance learning and a maximum of 8 hours of business management should you choose to take either.

If your licensure period is less than two years, but more than one year, the licensee will be required to take a minimum of 12 hours of continuing education, which shall include a minimum of 3 hours of ethics, in order to renew your license. You may only take a maximum of 6 hours of distance learning and 8 hours of business management should you choose to take either.

The courses you take must be from an Approved Provider for Continuing Education by the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB), a course approved by the National Certification Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM), or from an accredited college or university. Courses from an accredited college or university must be in anatomy, physiology, pathology, psychology, pharmacology, massage and bodywork therapy or business management only. If a course is offered by an Approved Provider, you may contact the NCBTMB (1-800-296-0664) to confirm the provider is approved. Do not call the Board office to obtain pre-approval of CE programs. The North Carolina Board does not pre-approve continuing education. It is your responsibility to make sure that a course is offered by an Approved Provider, and that the approved provider number, and the course hours are stated on your certificate.

If the course incorporates ethics in the course program, the number of CEs in ethics taught must be stated on the certificate of completion along with the total course hours and approved provider number. The Board does not accept animal massage for CE credit. The Board will accept HIV/Aids/Hepatitis approved CEs but not as ethics.

North Carolina Board of Massage

150 Fayetteville Street, Suite 1910
Raleigh, NC 27602

Please note that all courses are approved by the NCBTMB (National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork), NCBTMB Approved Provider #450015-06.