Please note that massage therapy laws change frequently and vary from state to state. Although we try to provide the most accurate information available, ultimately it is the responsibility of the student to contact their state licensing bureau to verify massage licensing renewal requirements.
Currently, we understand Nebraska to require the following:
24 CE hours every 2 years are required for massage licensing renewal
Three (3) ethics CE hours are mandatory (can be online)
Only PROFESSIONAL ETHICS CE Hours may be taken online
We offer the following individual courses in ethics:
♥ Professional Ethics, Roles and Boundaries in Massage Therapy, 2 CE
♥ Cultural Diversity and Professional Ethics, 1 CE
♥ Professional Ethics for Massage, 1 CE
Please visit the state licensing board to verify massage licensing renewal requirements or for further information.
From the Nebraska Massage Board
Massage Therapist licenses expire on November 1 of odd years. 24 CE hours are required to renew. See the requirements at 172 NAC 81 .
Mandatory CE Hours:
- Three ethics hours (can be online)
- 14 hands-on hours at workshops (cannot be online) each renewal period (one hour of attendance = one credit)
– The content of the hands-on hours must include at least 75 percent hands-on technique and may include up to 25 percent theory related to hands-on technique; and
– The agenda must reflect a set period of time for class participation (hands-on practice).
Optional CE Hours:
- National Examination. Seven credits for passing the examination
- Publication. Seven credits for an article published in a professional health-related journal; a newsletter article or letter to the editor does not meet this requirement.
- Jurisprudence Examination on State Laws (50-question take-home test). Three credits for passing (75 percent or above)
- Instructor at a Massage Therapy School. 1.5 credits will be granted for each hour of teaching up to a maximum of seven hours
- Practical Examination (must be administered by a Nebraska Licensed Massage Therapy School): three credits
- Massage School Training / College or University Coursework (resident/distance): One hour of training = one credit, one semester college credit hour = 15 credits, one quarter college credit = 10 credits, up to a maximum of seven credits
- Workshops and Lectures (Continuing Education Programs). one credit for each 50 minutes of participation up to a maximum of seven credits
- Homestudy Programs: Only home study programs relating to ethics will be acceptable for renewal. Up to a maximum of seven credits will be granted.
Nebraska Board of Massage
Please note that all courses taken with Massage CE Learning Tree can be used for NCBTMB (National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork) recertification, NCBTMB Approved Provider #450015-06.