Please note that massage therapy laws change frequently and vary from state to state. Although we try to provide you with the most accurate information available, ultimately it is the responsibility of the student to contact their state licensing bureau to verify massage licensing renewal requirements.
Currently, we understand California requires the following:
CA does not require Continuing Education hours for renewal.
We understand that there are three levels of massage certification in California:
- A Certified Massage Therapist (CMT) must have at least 500 hours of formal education and training in massage therapy.
- A Certified Massage Practitioner (CMP) has completed between 250 to 499 hours of massage therapy training.
- A Conditional Certified Massage Practitioner (CCMP) has less than 249 hours of massage education.
NEW APPLICATIONS! Applications for certification as Certified Massage Practitioner (“CMP”) will not be accepted on or after January 1, 2015. As of January 1, 2015, only applications for certification as a Certified Massage Therapist (“CMT”) will be accepted. CMT applicants must have 500 hours of education from CAMTC approved schools and have passed a CAMTC approved exam, as well as meet all of the other requirements in law in order to be certified.
Visit the state certification bureau for further information.
California Massage Therapy Council
One Capitol Mall, Suite 320
Sacramento, CA 95814
Please note that all courses can be used for NCBTMB (National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork) recertification, NCBTMB Approved Provider #450015-06.